Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• letter of appointment

hey girls!

as im new to jobsearch, i would like to ask a few questions regarding the letter of appointment.

I went for the final interview this week and was told by the interviewer that I will get the job. However, she will leave it all to the HR to discuss with me the terms and conditions.

Right now, I am actually having 2nd thoughts to this job... mainly because I realised the job scope WAS NEVER close to what was written in the job advertisement!!

As such, I was wondering when the HR finally contacts me, is it actually possible to actually negotiate with them the day to start work? Previously I told them I could start immediately. But right now, I wish to consider it for a longer time. Will this request also jeopardise my chances of getting the job?

Lastly, when I am requested down to sign the letter of appointment, do I definitely have to make a choice on spot ? Or will they give me up to a week for my decision?

I am in such a dilemma right now!!! Though it is a good company with lots of prospects, I actually do not think I could cope nor fancy much about the job scope. Moreover, they want me to start from lowest (*** a position above a clerk!) despite having a degree!

Sigh.

If u sign the letter of appointment means u have agreed to work for them.

I would say, wait for HR to contact u, u should tell them u prefer to start work from next month onwards. If u have decided not to take up the offer, just tell them so when they call u next time.

Comment

usually, the hr personnel will call you to discuss the first day of work, pay, leave, medical, etc..
      if there are some things that you are not agreeable.. negotiate with them..
      as long as you have not signed the letter of apppointment, changes can still be made..
      so far for my job, i had to sign the letter of appointment on the spot..