Choosing your degree major?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Choosing your degree major?

Im in my 1st year in NUS and i chose literature....but now im having second thoughts... and i dont know if i should change my major...so i need some advice from everyone here...

I kind of enjoyed lit in sec and JC and i did quite well in it then.... but now in university level, lit just seems a little too boring and difficult to me... maybe im just anxious, since ive only taken 3 lit modules so far. One was a lower level module, and now im taking a level 3000 module(because there are only level 3000 modules to choose from!) and another level 2000 one that is more on film than lit.... maybe its the boring nature of 18th century lit or the confusing nature of its works....

im not sure.... im just wondering if im making the right choice by choosing lit esp when i seem to enjoy sociology more... but sociology is not a very economic choice... afterall, what can i do with a soci degree? Then again, i think im not really looking to be a lit teacher anymore, especially since i dread the idea of spending the rest of my life in a school.... do u think i should take my exams later and see how well i do for my lit modules, or should i base it on my interest and not on my grades...(i obtained a b+ for my first lit exam in uni)

sigh. Ive always wanted to study a more creative line, like art history or simply art. I love art, though im not another extraordinary painter or artist... but i wasnt allowed to. And now im just feeling rather upset about the headaches lit gives me because i simply dread the lessons now and i cant figure out Tristram Shandy or Joseph Andrews at all....

sigh.But like they always say, sometimes people end up working in a line that they has nothing to do with their degree. I was actually thinking of being a speech and drama teacher...but working in a art museum or something would be my dream. Meanwhile i can only sigh....