Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hospitality | Tourism industry

hi babes!

just wondering if anyone of us here is in hospitality?

the idea of getting into hospitality has always been there at some corner of my mind.

other than shatec, where else would be a good place to learn the ropes?

TIA!

I graduated from TP in Diploma in Hospitality Management.

IMO, you dont actually need a diploma to kick start your career in Hotels. Hotels are constantly hiring, just start off as a Front Office Assistant and you will learn the ropes of the Front Desk in no time

Alot of my fellow schoolmates never went back into the hotel industry because of the irregular working hours and the low pay unless you are in the back of the house operations (HR, Accounts, etc) , then probably your pay is slightly higer

Comment

Go past the school thingy and right into it. Nothing beats doing it hands-on. After my SQ days, I did sales briefly before I joined the hotel industry (seems default for ex-flight crew but I went into it unwittingly). I've since left the trade. Don't know if relevant qualifications gives people the headstart now. I just know that you start from scratch whether you're SHATEC grad or not (back then).

Comment

thanks a lot babes!

but the thing now is, i'll be graduating from my current course in december (thanks to my poor grades in yr1 and 2). and there's like this huge debt to be paid off.

if the pay's low, i don't think i'll be able to handle it afterall. sigh!

HR department meaning the hiring of people department right?

i don't mind the irregular hours cause it's something i've been wanting to do. but the financial part comes in.

Comment

HR stands for Human Resources, Chiri