Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ANU or UQ?

Hi there,

I'm a diploma in IT graduate. I''ll be taking bachelor of commerce and I've gotten both offers from ANU and UQ.

As for UQ, I'll be given an advance standing of 2years... whereas for ANU, there will not be any exemptions. ANU is a more prestigious school but 3years is a somewhat too long. I'm new to commerce so UQ exemptions seems to be a little too good to be true to me.

Can anybody advise me on it?

you have to consider the cost? the standard of living in Canbbera will be lower compared to Queensland, I knew for my field (biology related), my profs recommended ANU. So you should do abit of research and see which uni is stronger for IT?

I would think the exemption is important though =) in terms of time and costs. Gd luckz!

Comment

I have checked the Times Higher Education Supplement which ranks all the unis..and ANU is really high up in the rankings.. higher than NUS even..if i am not wrong. I think you can check it out by googling Times Higher Education Supplement. there is a 14 day free trial in which you can access which unis are good for what things..

I have not been to both unis though.. so cannot say much..

Comment

The job prospects probably wouldn't be significantly different. In terms of cost I'd go for UQ, in terms of achievement and personal fulfillment (which doesn't really mean much these days), ANU. Ultimately you come out with equal standing in the employment field. Time is money. In the current economic climate, UQ is a better choice - in case you decide to do another degree when the market changes, you are still 2 years ahead. That's enough to do almost another degree.

Comment

Actually I wouldn't place much emphasis on the rankings. Schools like Deakin aren't ranked but they are really well-known in the accounting world for their accounting programs.