Pacifier

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pacifier

my 4 months old daughter's pacifier is a real life saver.... it makes her calm down when she is crying for whatever reasons... however, i worry that she might get hooked on the pacifier and will be hard to kick this habit when she's older.... any experiences to share? or any surefire way to make her quit the pacifier?

I'm no expert on this cos my baby is only 3 mths old. She is not dependent on the pacifier cos I didn't start her with one. I think the only surefire way to make her quit the pacifier is to go cold turkey (take the pacifier away from her). Of course she will be fussy and crying when she doesn't get her pacifier, and I know it's difficult to not give in to her wailing. But after awhile, she will realise that she is NOT getting it. It's all a matter of getting used to, and who gives in first, in my opinion. And also think about this: It's probably easier to quit now than when she is 1 yr old. Hope this helps!

Comment

Not like she can buy her own new pacifier if you cut hers up. Oh, abit "evil" but that's how I rationalise pacifiers vs thumb-sucking (though the best would be NEITHER haha, see how things go... if the desire's not there then I could possibly get away with neither).

My hubby has a bad habit of scratching at a specific scab and REFUSES to stop, I can't imagine having to nag at hubby not to scratch his scab and baby not to suck her/ his thumb, all day long. Would drive me nuts. I can't very well cut off their body parts (am KIDDING) but an external object like a pacifier I certainly have some control over.

Comment

Maybe I should stick a pacifier in hubby's mouth everytime he scratches his scab.

Comment