Potluck ideas?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Potluck ideas?

My friends and I were thinking of celebrating Christmas together by holding a potluck dinner. However I have no experience with potlucks and I'm a terrible cook!

Any suggestions for food that is easy to prepare, reasonably priced, tasty, and will not cause any of my friends to suffer from food poisoning?

Get some ice cream, a bottle of choc sauce, strawberry puree, whipped cream, chocolate sprinkles, crushed nuts and mini marshmallows and set up a DIY ice cream sundae station. No cooking involved!

Comment

What about spagetti? Should be easy to cook and I believe supermarkets has ready-made spagetti sauce.

Maybe egg/tuna sandwich? Simple and no cooking required.

Comment

ohh my friends and i cook together/have potlucks all the time in perth. some suggestions:

entree
        get some plain round crackers - i like mine with a touch of herbs. slather cream cheese on top, add: rolled smoked salmon/avocado/smoked oysters or mussels (comes in canned form), strips of cheese (type of cheese up to you but cheddar's quite common) .. tadaa! i've done this a few times and it's always been gobbled up fast.

salad - walnuts, lettuce, diced apples, plump raisins, kidney beans, sweet corn, anything else you might like, low-fat mayo. also yummy!

main
        oven-baked chicken wings. just marinate with a foolproof recipe you can find off the net, bbq in oven for 45mins or more. remember to turn over!

baked pasta - boil pasta of your choice (i usually go for penne), add sliced mushrooms, crabsticks, chicken strips, cauliflower or broccoli florets, sweet corn, whatever else you like (you might want to blanche the harder ingredients first), mix in a creamy sauce (you can find the instant powdered packets for "baked pasta" easily), sprinkle mozarella cheese on top, bake in oven. cheesily good!can add sweet chilli sauce in the pasta too for a spicier effect.

dessert
        buy dessert