Teeth grinding (bruxism)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Teeth grinding (bruxism)

sorry all..so many dental topics recently..

my last visit my dentist also suspect i have this problem. i think i have..at night when i sleep i clench my jaws quite tightly..sighz so many problems and they all need $..

this morning i woke up with left head pain and neck also..

though i tried to remind myself..

she suggested wearing a mouth guard at night, anyone wore before?

I've been wearing one nightly on my lower teeth for the last 1 1/2 years. I never realized I had a problem until my dentist discovered a crack in my molar probably caused by grinding my teeth in my sleep. The molar eventually had to be crowned & I have to wear the mouthguard to prevent the porcelain crown from chipping and prevent further damage to other teeth.

angie

Comment

hi..my dentist also suspected the same thing! my molar doesnt need to be crowned yet..but in the future yes..

oh so its to be worn on either lower or upper? or both?

did u do a root canal as well?

was there any difficulty in wearing the guard to sleep?

sorry..so many questions..

Comment

I didn't do a root canal since the root is still alive so just the crown. You should just need the guard for either the upper or lower teeth but not both.

The first couple of nights was a little hard to get used to... saliva tended to accumulate. However my dentist told me I should get myself tired out or sleep less in the preceeding night before I first start to use the guard... worked like a charm although I've never had sleep problems (ie usually I sleep like a pig, always not enough sleep) Probably took me 2 or 3 days to get used to it