Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Calling Salsa lovers!

Hi hi,

I'm just a beginner and I really love salsa. Just wondering how many of you out there dance too?

I really envious of really good dancers, I'm wondering how long does it take you to get that good? And where did you guys learn? I'm currenlty learning at Clementi CC under this really great instructor Joshua.

I mainly dance swing but have dabbled in salsa occasionally. As for how long it takes to become good, it really depends on individuals. Some people are natural and pick up steps quickly whereas others will need a lot more practice. If you really want to excel, social dancing is very important. It's not enough to just go for classes, you'll have to learn to follow (or to lead for guys) and to dance with different people. The more you social dance, the faster you improve. Once you become a good follower, dancing becomes much easier. When I first started doing salsa, I found it pretty easy to social dance even if I've never learnt a move before (provided I'm dancing with a good lead of course) due to what I learnt in swing about being a good follower.

Comment

Originally posted by majacqueline
      Hi hi,

I'm just a beginner and I really love salsa. Just wondering how many of you out there dance too?

I really envious of really good dancers, I'm wondering how long does it take you to get that good? And where did you guys learn? I'm currenlty learning at Clementi CC under this really great instructor Joshua.
      hi..i am learning at a cc too..which level are you? i am only elementry one

Comment

all i did was a 2 hour crash course with my friend who's a teacher and hit the dance floor immediately after that evening but it sure works up a great exercise for the whole body. i was aching like nothing the next day

Comment

Wow! Sounds like fun! How much are lessons usually?

Comment

Fern,

I'm at Beginner revision now, I have done Beginner 1,2, 3 and 4.

Jean,